EINOJUHANI RAUTAVAARA (b.1928): Lost Landscapes, Summer Thoughts, April Lines, Notturno e danza, Dithyrambos, VariĆ©tude for Solo Violin, The Fiddlers for Piano.

Catalogue Number: 07N085

Label: Ondine

Reference: ODE 1177-2

Format: CD

Price: $15.98

Description: This composer's largest chamber work for violin is the 20-minute Lost Landscapes of 2005 - musical impressions of four places where Rautavaara spent important periods of his youth ("Tanglewood", "Ascona", "Rainergasse 11, Vienna" and "West 23rd. St., NY"). A lyrical nostaglia sometimes prevails, as in Summer Thoughts and April Lines, two works left incomplete in the 70s and picked up again by the composer in the late 2000s. The Fiddlers was Rautavaara's "Op. 1" - a suite of piano pieces based on Ostrobothnian folk melodies collected in the late 18th century. Here, we have both the original violin melodies and the composer's piano versions. Pekka Kuusisto (violin), Paavale Jumppanen (piano).


(requires cookies enabled)


Need to register? Click here.

(requires cookies enabled)

Your cart is currently empty.